Interview of a student of the training: Jean-Elie DUMAS
 /  Others / Events / Student Organizations / Interview of a student of the training: Jean-Elie DUMAS
Interview d’un étudiant de la formation : Jean-Elie DUMAS

Interview of a student of the training: Jean-Elie DUMAS

The Magisterium, it is also students involved in their University. Hence, we therefore propose a small interview with Jean-Elie Dumas, first-year student of the Magisterium and Chairman of "Prav d'Assas". He organized a lecture with Jean Lassalle on November 14, 2017, which attracted no less than 1,400 students.

  • What is the "Pravd'Ass"? What is your career path within the association?

"The Pravd'Assas" is the student newspaper of Pantheon-Assas University. It is an exclusively online newspaper which claims to be collaborative, incisive and independent. Our aim is, firstly, to really promote freedom of speech by publishing all opinions, and, secondly, to provide students with a journalistic content throughout the year: culture, politics, interviews, humor ...

The association is still very young. Indeed, it was created when I was in first year, and I became promptly one of the first supporters of the project. I joined it as an editor last year, and I have the honour of being its Chairman this year!

  • How did you come up with the idea of inviting Jean Lassalle?

Arthur, who is in charge of organising lectures, really admires his background and personality. He obtained his phone number after meeting him in a bookstore a few months ago. When we saw that he lectured at Edhec, we immediately took a chance! On his campaign trail, Jean Lassalle was very popular among young people. Furthermore, his career, charisma and political ideas make him an interesting guest.

  • How to organize such a lecture?

The first step is to get in touch with the guest, and then, set a date for the lecture. Thereafter, all the little things that seem innocuous but that, accumulated, take actually a lot of time: from the endorsement of the conference by the Administration, the preparation of the conference (the supports, the questions, the interactions with the audience, etc.) to the amphitheater booking.

Communication has also contributed widely to the success of this event. Every day, we tried to come up with thing both humorous and relevant, that would push students to take part in the conference, without however turning the latter into a one-man show. I think the success of the lecture is mainly due to those specific elements. We have been able to raise a real expectation and arouse the curiosity of the students.

  • What particular difficulties have you encountered in the organisation of this event?

The first difficulty we face when we have to arrange a lecture that would probably gather about 1,500 people, is the fact that we want all the things to be perfect. Hence, we tend to delegate hardly and do everything alone. Often, in the framework of an association, one realizes that delegating is often more complicated and takes up longer than doing things alone. As a result, one finds itself virtually alone to come up with all the ideas, and, basically, such a situation is really a huge source of stress and apprehension.

The second difficulty we faced was obviously the fact that Jean Lassalle has been accused of sexual assaults just three days after the announcement of the lecture. Therefore, this case has increased the pressure and interest around this event. Outside the association, your friends send you dozens of articles on the case. Internally, the members of the association also receive them. Hence, it inevitably strengthens the pressure. Nevertheless, I quickly decided to maintain the conference, but not all members agreed with me!

  • How to strike the balance between the courses of the Magisterium and the chairmanship of an association?

I recognize that I faced lots of troubles at the very beginning of the year because it is at this specific time that we launch projects and try to come with a new dynamic. Thereafter, I also had to dedicate a large part of my time to the organisation of the lecture. However, since November 14, everything is much better! In addition, I was lucky enough to rely on the the strong solidarity within the promotion. Indeed, if during a class I had to deal with an organizational problem, to give me the lessons, or to explain them to me later. This therefore reduces significantly the pressure.

  • What are the future projects of the association for the rest of year?

The beginning of the year was quite atyical because of the lecture. We are a newspaper. Thus, our main purpose is to publish articles. Hence, we must refocus and do not rest on our laurels because the year is still long! We will also try to arrange another conference of that kind. However, it remains difficult to find interesting speakers who are both available and ready to come to Pantheon-Assas University.

Tags:

Related Posts

CONTACT

Access :

122, rue de Vaugirard
75006 Paris, FRANCE

L4 L6 L12 L13 Montparnasse
L10 L13 Duroc
L4 Saint-Placide
L12 Falguière

Phone Number :
+33 (0)1 53 63 80 76

Email:
secretairembf@u-paris2.fr

RECRUITMENT

Opening applications
Avril 2020

Written test
June, 2020

Interviews
At the end of June, 2020

Results reporting
At the end of June, 2020

Administrative registration
July, 2020

en_GBEnglish
fr_FRFrench en_GBEnglish

Interview d’un étudiant de la formation : Jean-Elie DUMAS
 /  Autres / Événements / Vie associative / Interview d’un étudiant de la formation : Jean-Elie DUMAS
Interview d’un étudiant de la formation : Jean-Elie DUMAS

Interview d’un étudiant de la formation : Jean-Elie DUMAS

Le Magistère c’est aussi des élèves impliqués dans leur université. On vous propose donc un petit entretien avec Jean-Elie Dumas, étudiant an première année du MBF et président de la Prav d’Assas. Il a notamment organisé une conférence avec Jean Lassalle le 14 novembre dernier qui a attiré pas moins de 1400 étudiants.

  • Qu’est-ce que la Pravd’Assas ? Quel est ton parcours au sein de l’association ?

La Pravd’Assas est le journal des étudiants d’Assas. C’est un journal exclusivement en ligne qui se veut collaboratif, incisif et indépendant. Notre objectif est de réellement promouvoir la liberté d’expression en publiant toutes les opinions, ainsi que de fournir du contenu journalistique tout au long de l’année aux étudiants : culture, politique, interviews, humour…

L’association est encore très jeune. Elle a été créée quand j’étais en L1, et j’ai tout de suite été un des premiers fans du projet. J’ai rejoint l’association en tant que rédacteur l’année dernière, et j’ai la chance d’en être le président cette année !

  • Comment vous est venue l’idée d’inviter Jean Lassalle ?

Le responsable du pôle conférence, Arthur, est très admiratif de son parcours et de sa personnalité. Il avait récupéré son numéro en le croisant dans une librairie il y quelques mois.  Quand on a vu qu’il donnait une conférence à l’Edhec, on a tout de suite tenté notre chance ! Jean Lassalle était très populaire pendant les élections chez les jeunes, et son parcours, son charisme et ses idées politiques en font un invité intéressant.

  • Comment s’organise une conférence comme celle-ci ?

Il s’agit tout d’abord d’arriver à contacter l’invité, et de trouver une date auquel il pourrait donner une conférence. Puis toutes les petites choses qui paraissent anodines mais qui accumulées, prennent en réalité beaucoup de temps : la validation de la conférence par l’administration, la réservation d’un amphithéâtre, l’imagination du format de la conférence, la préparation des questions et des moments plus interactifs avec le public, faire le PowerPoint, trouver les musiques, la préparation logistique, etc.

La communication a aussi été un élément très important pour la réussite de cette conférence, et tous les jours on essayait de trouver quelque chose d’à la fois drôle et fin, qui donnerait l’envie aux étudiants de venir y assister, sans non plus faire passer la conférence pour un one man show. Je pense que le succès de la conférence repose en très grande partie là-dessus. On a réussi à créer une réelle attente, et à susciter la curiosité des étudiants.

  • Quelles difficultés avez-vous rencontrées dans l’organisation de l’évènement ?

La première difficulté est que lors de l’organisation d’une conférence où il y aura potentiellement 1400-1500 personnes, on a envie que tout soit parfait. On a tendance à peu déléguer, et à tout faire seul. Souvent dans les associations, on se rend compte que déléguer est souvent plus compliqué et prend plus de temps que de faire les choses seul, pour un résultat qui ne nous satisfera pas forcément. Tu te retrouves donc à deux à essayer de trouver toutes les idées, et c’est vraiment une grosse source de stress et d’appréhension.

La seconde difficulté est évidemment l’affaire des accusations d’agressions sexuelles de Jean Lassalle, qui est sortie trois jours après qu’on ait annoncé la conférence. Ça a multiplié la pression et l’intérêt autour de cette conférence. En externe, tu reçois des dizaines de messages de tes potes qui t’envoies des liens avec des articles là-dessus, et en interne, les membres de l’association les reçoivent aussi donc te rajoutent encore la pression. J’ai rapidement pris la position de maintenir la conférence, mais tous les membres n’étaient pas à ce moment d’accord avec moi !

  • Comment trouver l’équilibre entre les cours du Magistère et la présidence d’une association ?

J’avoue que j’ai eu beaucoup de mal au début de l’année parce que c’est à ce moment qu’on lance les projets et qu’on essaie de créer une nouvelle dynamique ; puis l’organisation de la conférence m’a pris énormément de temps, mais depuis le 14 novembre tout va beaucoup mieux ! J’ai aussi eu la chance de pouvoir compter sur la solidarité au sein de la promotion. Si pendant un cours je devais gérer un problème d’organisation, il y avait toujours quelqu’un pour me donner ses notes, ou me réexpliquer plus tard. Et c’est vrai que ça retire beaucoup de pression quand tu sais que tu peux compter sur les autres !

  • Quels sont les projets pour l’association pour le reste de l’année ?

Le début de l’année a été très atypique à cause de la conférence. Nous sommes un journal, notre principal objet est de publier des articles, et il faut donc qu’on se reconcentre et qu’on ne se repose pas sur le succès de cet événement parce que l’année est encore longue ! On va aussi essayer de refaire une conférence de ce type, mais ça reste compliqué de trouver des intervenants intéressants, à la fois disponibles et prêts à venir à Assas.

Tags:

Related Posts

CONTACT

Adresse:

122, rue de Vaugirard
75006 Paris

L4 L6 L12 L13 Montparnasse
L10 L13 Duroc
L4Saint-Placide
L12Falguière

Téléphone:
+33 (0)1 53 63 80 75

Email:
secretairembf@u-paris2.fr

ADMISSIONS

Les inscriptions 2018 sont ouvertes.

Envoi des dossiers
avant le 15 mai 2018 inclus

Entretien d’admission
28-29 juin 2018

Résultats communiqués par mail
29 juin 2018

Inscriptions
Du 02 au 06 juillet 2018